Security

security
sɪˈkjʊərɪti,sɪˈkjɔːrɪti
the state of feeling safe, stable, and free from fear or anxiety.
Synonyms: feeling of safety, feeling of ease, absence of worry/anxiety, peace of mind, freedom from doubt, certainty

In a ministry that raises funding for projects, we are always looking to our future and forecasting and budgeting and raising and securing funding. Sometimes we are assured of funding for various durations and projects. We know where it will come from but the majority of the time we have no idea. At times like this, our only assurance is that God will keep to His Word. He will be our Provider and our Sustainer in our ministries… but not only in our ministries, also in all parts of our life.

These are every day lessons for me. God will provide in my present day, He will provide in my future. He will sustain us as He sustains our ministries.

But what if He doesn’t? Because sometimes the ends refuse to meet. What will my response be? Will I throw in the towel and give up on God? Though the fig tree does not bud and there are no grapes on the vines, though the olive crop fails and the fields produce no food, though there are no sheep in the pen and no cattle in the stalls yet I will exult in the LORD; I will rejoice in the God of my salvation! Habakkuk 3:17,18.

We don’t know what our future holds, but we know Who holds our future. For me, this is my solid assurance. Jesus is already there in my tomorrows. He holds everything together. My today and tomorrow are secure.

Leave a comment